Deluxe Summer Plans

a view of the boys checking out the view of the ocean

Although we live near the water, we aren’t really beach people. Personally, I don’t love the feeling of sand between my toes. I know, it’s weird. Plus the beaches in New England are mostly rocks anyway so I’ve never understood the allure of the Cape and Islands.  That said, I do love the water and my kids do, too, so this year we purchased a Duxbury beach permit. I have several girlfriends who buy one every summer and spend day after day at this beach. The water is cold (natch) but the set up is great because it’s essentially a giant tailgate party. I loooove a good tailgate! The weather last week was practically summer with mid 80 degree temps. So with Mary Poppins by my side, we made the 20-minute trek to Deluxebury and spent our afternoon playing at the beach. Yea, it was rocky, but we really had so much fun. We met a friend down there with her kids and the giggles from them that day (not to mention the silence at bedtime that night) was golden. The benefits of a beach day seriously outweighed my personal quirks. Honestly, I can’t wait to get back down there!

What are your summer plans? Are you a beach person or a pool person?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Deluxe Summer Plans

  1. Danielle says:

    Looks beautiful. I’m a proper New Englander (sorry, Sarah) and love the beach (but don’t love the sand coming into the house after). You guys are going to have a great summer in Deluxeberry 🙂

    • Do y’all go to Duxbury Beach? Peggotty in Scituate is fun, too. I think I’m going to love the convenience of DB!

      Sent from my iPhone

    • We are super excited about it! I’m sure there will be days when we’ll pull off 3A to Peggotty 🙂 I hope we’ll see you there! What other beaches do you like to visit?

      • Danielle says:

        We don’t really do Peggotty. We really love Minot. We went to Peggotty one time and there were so many flies etc, but I think we just picked the wrong beach day there. We’ll have to try it again.

Leave a Reply

