Southern Style in Yankee-Land

I know people up here who do it, but having a Yankee husband I’ve been put on notice not to dress our boys up in fancy Southern clothing. You know what I’m talking about? Those darling seersucker John-Johns beautifully hand-smocked. {sigh} Sometimes I can get away with it for holidays, but unlike my Southern momma friends I don’t dare dress my boys up in it for playdates or school. However, I can’t bear to make them wear the cheesy tees I see in so many chain stores. Instead I cheat and buy inexpensive solid shirts from places like Old Navy and have them monogrammed. Call me what you will, but it gives me my Dixie fix without causing a fuss.

Once a year, though, I get my GRITS on and shop to my wallet’s content at the Kelly’s Kids trunk show. This year’s line of clothing is a chic flashback to a couple of years ago when I snapped up several outfits and I’m thrilled to be able to replenish what B has grown out of and passed down to his brothers. Truth be told there is a madras look I’m dying to dress the boys in. Even though they have matching adult styles, that dog won’t hunt here. We’re only going kid-friendly and even then I have to be careful what I get for B since he’s beginning to show some interest in what he wears these days. Goodness gracious!

If you’re interested to purchase anything from Kelly’s Kids shop here online. During check out, please enter 4754 as the party reference number.

Leave a Reply

