For The Love Of It

the patriots super bowl loss was enough to make everyone start drinking

I’ve always loved February. Not just because it’s my birth month either. I love that it’s different with only 28 days. I love that it celebrates love even though I’m not a fan of Hallmark Holidays. I love that M’s birthday is the same month and only a week after mine. I love that it’s Rodeo time in Houston and in Yankee-land February means Winter Break. It’s a good month.

But this February was marked with shades of blue. First, if you care (which I really don’t), the Patriots lost the Super Bowl. I had a miscarriage. Whitney died. Two of the boys had multiple colds and ear infections. We all got pink eye. Then I officially entered middle life at the ripe old age of 35. And M can also no longer say he is 40, but rather in his forties. 

In the grand scheme of things, however, we survived February. March welcomed us with snow on the 1st and we’re expecting weather in the mid-60’s later this week. We celebrated Texas Independence Day with friends and the Josh Abbott Band (no relation, sadly). We have lots of other happy things on the horizon with birthdays, vacations, and our home renovation plans are about to break ground.

I love the saying “When life gives you lemons, make margaritas.” I had plenty in February and I raise my glass to the future.


Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

